Back SEC Football Player Bracket

Back To SEC

SEC Football Player Bracket

By Southern Pigskin Staff
Follow us at  Become a fan at the Facebook Page

In honor of March Madness, we decided to tier out the 68 best SEC players since the turn of the century.

In honor of March Madness, we decided to tier out the 68 best SEC players since the turn of the century. Based on a combination of production, individual accolades, and each contributor's subjective definition of "best", four players were seeded into each tier. We even included a play-in matchup for two eleven seeds and two sixteen seeds, just like the NCAA basketball tournament. The one seeds are in order of ranking while the remaining players are listed alphabetically.

Here's how our bracket of the SEC's 68 best players since 2000 would be seeded:

#1 Seeds

(1) QB Cam Newton, Auburn; (2) QB Tim Tebow, Florida; (3) DL David Pollack, Georgia; (4) DB Eric Berry, Tennessee

#2 Seeds

OL Shawn Andrews, Arkansas; QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M; RB Darren McFadden, Arkansas; LB Patrick Willis, Ole Miss

#3 Seeds

DL Glenn Dorsey, LSU; DB Tyrann Mathieu, LSU; DB Patrick Peterson, LSU; OL Andre Smith, Alabama

#4 Seeds

DL Jonathan Allen, Alabama; DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina; WR Amari Cooper, Alabama; LB Jarvis Jones, Georgia

#5 Seeds

LB Josh Allen, Kentucky; WR Percy Harvin, Florida; OL Barrett Jones, Alabama; DL Quinnen Williams, Alabama

#6 Seeds

RB Todd Gurley, Georgia; DB LaRon Landry, LSU; OL Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas; OL Marcus McNeill, Auburn

#7 Seeds

RB Leonard Fournette, LSU; LB Rolando McClain, Alabama; OL Maurkice Pouncey, Florida; WR Josh Reed, LSU

#8 Seeds

LB Reuben Foster, Alabama; OL Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M; DB Reggie Nelson, Florida; RB Carnell Williams, Auburn

#9 Seeds

DL Alex Brown, Florida; LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama; QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State; DB Lito Sheppard, Florida

#10 Seeds

DB Morris Claiborne, LSU; QB Eli Manning, Ole Miss; DB Carlos Rogers, Auburn; LB Brandon Spikes, Florida

#11 Seeds

DL John Henderson, Tennessee; DL Chad Lavalais, LSU; OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M/LB Roquan Smith; DB Corey Webster, LSU/OL Andrew Whitworth, LSU

#12 Seeds

DL Terrence Cody, Alabama; LB Karlos Dansby, Auburn; DL Myles Garrett, Texas A&M; LB Bradie James, LSU

#13 Seeds

DB Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama; RB Derrick Henry, Alabama; WR Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt; RB Trent Richardson, Alabama

#14 Seeds

DL Nick Fairley, Auburn; LB Dont'a Hightower, Alabama; OL Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss; TE D.J. Williams, Arkansas

#15 Seeds

DB Jamal Adams, LSU; DB Vernon Hargreaves, Florida; RB Mark Ingram, Alabama; RB Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina

#16 Seeds

DB Deandre Baker, Georgia; WR A.J. Green, Georgia/DB Joe Haden, Florida; WR Christian Kirk, Texas A&M/OL Michael Oher, Ole Miss; QB Connor Shaw, South Carolina